since black friday and cyber monday is right around the corner, im eyeing on spending some cash to get me started on making youtube gameplay videos..

my machine

windows 8.1
i7 4th gen 4710mq 2.8ghz
8gb ram
8gb ddr5 gtx 880m

for video editing software, i have no experience.. so any recommendations are all welcomed..

so googling around the web, it seems that these 4 are the most highly recommended recording software: 1) mirillis action, 2) dxtory, 3)bandicam, 4)fraps

i've only tried bandicam more than a year ago, and was impressed with decent quality and low system resource usage for my mediocre rig back then...

from my googling online:
fraps = still great video qualities... but still needs a solid machine
bandicam = my experience says it all
dxtory = alot of codec options.. reviews says solid video quality and not too much system resource usage
mirillis action = no codec options.. reviews says great video quality, not high system usage..

im not sure about nvidia's built in shadowplay.. so if anyone has used it or using it, any opinions??

what i'm looking for is a recording software that has really good quality, and low system usage(well one where i can still play over 30+ fps with my current new machine)

i just want to know if my machine is decent enough to use the likes of mirillis action, dxtory, fraps, shadowplay etc

for external harddrive, i currently have a WD 500gb passport that i use for non gaming.. im looking for a good one where i can put the video being recorded while gaming... not sure on which ones are good quality...
should i look for an external drive that has a specific amount of transfer rate?? i saw a video on youtube regarding recording to an external hd that it should be at least 50mbps transfer rate.. not sure if its just personal opinion from that reviewer or it also matters...

also regarding external hd drive brands, does it matter?? seagate, WD, etc?!?!?!

9 years ago*

Comment has been collapsed.